Chapter menu:
Page content:

High-tech production for aerospace

Over 75 years have passed since the foundation of ‘Motorenwerk Varel’ and the site has evolved into a high-tech plant for the aviation industry that is second to none. With its present-day workforce of 1300, the plant is now part of Premium AEROTEC. Its machinery is the most advanced in Europe, producing highly complex machined components as well as turned and milled aluminium, steel and titanium parts for all Airbus airliners, the A400M military transporter and the Eurofighter.

Aircraft components since 1955

Aircraft construction activities at the Varel site began in 1955. Jigs and fixtures and machined components were manufactured in those days. Varel soon began to specialise in these activities, and in 1964 it became the central machining plant of Vereinigte Flugtechnische Werke (VFW). This circumstance, coupled with its early participation in the Airbus programme starting in the mid-1970s, ultimately blazed the trail for Varel’s future. Varel was assigned responsibility as the machining plant for the Airbus group, and also became a centre of competence for production equipment engineering.

Several pillars

Today, Varel uses state-of-the-art five-axis machining centres to manufacture large and small parts. A high-precision ‘speedline’ ensures very short throughput times for urgent orders and spare parts that are required at short notice. Besides machining, assembly is also becoming increasingly important. In addition to the assemblies produced today, the Varel plant is responsible for assembling the passenger and cargo door frames and the floor grid for the A350 XWB. Another pillar is the production systems field, which produces complex manufacturing and assembly equipment – from the initial design to development, simulation, production, commissioning and customer support along the entire process chain. The Varel engineers have considerable experience in the construction of models for high-speed and low-speed wind tunnel testing. The models they build in different take-off and landing configurations (e.g. wing flap positions) for all desired aircraft types are used to test aerodynamic behaviour during different flight phases in the huge wind tunnels. A technology and training centre has been established next door.

Bremen plant section

Varel

Premium AEROTEC
Varel plant
Riesweg 151-155
26316 Varel
Germany
Phone: +49 (0)4451 121-0
Fax: +49 (0)4451 121-444

Employees: 1,300
Total area: 160,608 m²
Built-up area: 51,642 m²

Kapitelmenue:
Seiteninhalt:

Hochtechnologie-Standort für den Flugzeugbau

In den mehr als 75 Jahren, die seit Gründung des einstigen „Motorenwerks Varel“ vergangen sind, hat sich Varel zu einem High-Tech-Standort des Flugzeugbaus entwickelt, der weltweit seinesgleichen sucht. Heute gehört das Werk mit seinen 1.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern zur Premium AEROTEC und produziert mit dem modernsten Maschinenpark Europas hochkomplexe Zerspanteile sowie Dreh-/Frästeile aus Aluminium, Stahl und Titan für alle Baumuster der Airbus-Familie, den Militärtransporter A400M und den Eurofighter.

Flugzeugbauteile seit 1955

Begonnen wurde mit den Flugzeugbau-Aktivitäten in Varel 1955. Gefertigt wurden damals Vorrichtungen und Zerspanteile. Alsbald spezialisierte sich Varel auf diese Tätigkeit und wurde 1964 zum zentralen Zerspanungswerk der Vereinigten Flugtechnischen Werke (VFW). Dieser Umstand und die frühe Beteiligung am Airbus-Programm seit Mitte der 70er Jahre wurde schließlich wegweisend für Varels Zukunft. Varel erhielt als Zerspanungswerk die Zuständigkeit für den Airbus-Verbund und wurde darüber hinaus zum Kompetenzzentrum für Fertigungsmittelbau.

Mehrere Standbeine

Heute produziert Varel in der Groß- und Kleinteilefertigung mit modernsten 5-Achsen-Bearbeitungszentren. Eine so genannte Speedline sorgt für kürzeste Durchlaufzeiten bei dringenden Kurzfristbdarfen und Ersatzteilen in höchster Präzision. Neben der Zerspanung gewinnt auch die Montage immer mehr an Bedeutung: Varel ist für die Montage der Tür- und Torrahmen und des Fußbodengerüsts der A350 XWB verantwortlich. Ein weiteres Standbein bildet der Bereich Fertigungssysteme, der komplexe Fertigungs- und Montagevorrichtungen herstellt – von der Konzeption über Entwicklung, Simulation, Fertigung, Inbetriebnahme und Kundenbetreuung, entlang der gesamten Prozesskette. Über langjährige Erfahrungen verfügt Varel auch auf dem Gebiet des Windkanalmodellbaus im Bereich der Low- und High-Speed-Modelle. An den hier gefertigten Präzisions-Modellen von allen gewünschten Typen mit verschiedenen Start- und Landekonfigurationen (Klappenstellungen) wird in den großen Windkanälen das aerodynamische Verhalten in unterschiedlichen Flugphasen getestet. Ergänzt wird der High-Tech-Standort durch das benachbarte Technologie- und Ausbildungszentrum.

Werksteil Bremen

Varel

Premium AEROTEC
Standort Varel
Riesweg 151–155
26316 Varel
Tel.: +49 (0)4451 121-0
Fax: +49 (0)4451 121-444

Mitarbeiter: 1.300
Geamtfläche: 160.608 m²
Bebaute Fläche: 51.642 m²

Anfahrtsbeschreibung